We are personal injury experts who have achieved results for our clients in Joplin for over 40 years.
- Pass the Class F and Class M written and on-cycle skills tests.
- Those who have completed an approved motorcycle rider training course can get a waiver from the on-cycle skills exam.
- Submit personal details, including name, address, Social Security Number, date and place of birth, and proof of residency.
- Pay the applicable fees depending on the validity of the license. It could be a three-year Class M license or a six-year class M license.
Riders Between the Ages of 16 and 18
Applicants in this age bracket do not need to complete a Motorcycle Rider Training Course, but they need to clear the Class M and Class F exams to get an instruction permit. Further, minors who are first-time drivers also need to fulfill the Missouri Graduated Driver License Program (GDL) requirements before getting a full license.
Minor drivers who want to upgrade their instruction permit to an intermediate (restricted) license need to satisfy the following criteria:
- Hold the permit for a minimum of 182 days which commences from the date of receipt.
- Complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving with a qualified person between sunset and sunrise. 10 hours of supervised driving has to take place at night.
- They should not have been convicted for traffic-related offenses in the past six months.
- They should not have convictions for alcohol-related offenses in the past twelve months.
Those who ride a motorcycle on an intermediate license are prohibited from driving between 1 AM to 5 AM except in certain circumstances.
Riders Above the Age of 15 years and 182 Days
Applicants above the age of fifteen and a half years may obtain an instruction permit after fulfilling certain requirements.
To get the instruction permit, you have to:
- Get a parent or legal guardian to accompany you to the Department of Revenue’s Office to obtain their written permission statement.
- Complete a Motorcycle Rider Training Course (MRTC).
- Pass the Class F and M, vision, and road sign exams.
Restrictions applicable to instruction permit holders
Instruction permit holders who are below the age of sixteen have to comply with the following rules:
- Take rides only during the daytime.
- Stay within 50 miles of their residence.
- Operate engines with a displacement of less than 250 ccs.
- Not carry passengers with them.
- Should be accompanied by a qualified person/driving instructor or grandparent.
- Carry the instruction permit while driving.
Contact an Experienced Motorcycle Accident Attorney Today
The licensing requirements of Missouri may impact your case and affect the compensation you are entitled to receive. Our Missouri personal injury lawyers can assist you with determining fault, negotiating with insurance companies, and getting compensation for the injuries suffered.
Our law firm, Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien, P.C., offers an initial free consultation and works on a contingency basis for personal injury cases. This means that we get paid only if you win your personal injury claim.