BWO Trial Lawyers White

Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien, P.C.: Your Springfield Uninsured Underinsured Motorist Attorneys


Car wrecks cause havoc that Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien could assist with. For skilled Springfield uninsured & underinsured motorist attorneys, contact us!

We are personal injury experts who have achieved results for our clients in Springfield for over 40 years.

logos slidere min

Springfield Uninsured Underinsured Motorist Lawyers


Driving on Missouri roads without insurance or proof of financial responsibility is illegal. Although states require drivers to have auto insurance, some insurance policies fail to provide adequate coverage for crash victims with serious injuries.

Suppose you are injured, or an uninsured or underinsured driver damages your vehicle in an automobile accident. In that case, you may have to cover the cost of your medical bills and auto repair expenses out of pocket.

Insurance companies are for-profit businesses that tend to limit the compensation awarded to victims of underinsured/uninsured motorist accident. However, accident attorneys Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien can file underinsured or uninsured motorist claims against the insurance company and pursue compensation on your behalf.

Springfield Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Laws


Uninsured Motorist Laws

Under Missouri uninsured motorist statutes, all motor vehicle drivers must carry liability insurance and uninsured motorists coverage (UMC). The liability insurance will cover the damages (up to the policy limit) you cause to other vehicles/individuals in an accident.

The minimum level of liability coverage required by Missouri law is:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury

  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury

  • $25,000 per accident for property

Uninsured motorist coverage will cover your injuries, your passenger’s injuries, and any vehicle damages caused by the uninsured driver. The reason behind uninsured motorist insurance coverage is to provide persons injured by an uninsured motorist with the same protection they would be entitled to if the driver had liability insurance.

The minimum requirement for UMC in Missouri:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person

  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident

There are legal consequences for drivers who fail to carry the required minimum coverage, including fines and a license suspensions. In addition, individuals at fault in an automobile accident will be personally liable for damages. Drivers can carry higher policies at their discretion.

If the damages exceed the amount of coverage, our personal injury lawyer can file a lawsuit against the negligent driver to collect the amounts not covered by the insurance policy.


Underinsured Motorist Laws

An underinsured accident is said to occur where the at-fault driver has an insurance policy. However, the same is inadequate for covering all the expenses associated with the accident. Unlike uninsured motorist coverage, it is not mandatory to carry underinsured motorist coverage in Missouri.

Making an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Claim in Missouri


Missouri residents involved in an auto collision with an underinsured/uninsured driver can bring an underinsured/uninsured motorist claim. They may file a claim with their own insurance company in the following situations: 

  • They sustained a bodily injury.

  • The bodily injury occurred in an accident with an uninsured/underinsured driver.

  • The uninsured/underinsured driver was responsible for the collision.

  • The uninsured/underinsured driver did not have enough coverage to compensate them fully.

Your insurance company will begin the claim by investigating the cause of the accident, requesting and analyzing your medical records, and attempting to put a value on your claim.

The claim will not be approved if the insured was at fault or the other driver had adequate coverage to cover the costs of property damages and medical expenses. Further, an uninsured motorist policy may not protect passengers in non-owned vehicles.

How Is Fault Shared in an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Claim in Missouri?

Missouri is a pure comparative negligence state that awards damages according to the defendant’s level of fault. Other parties who may share blame for the incident include:

  • A government agency (responsible for road maintenance)
  • The other driver
  • The driver’s employer (if the driver was on duty at the time)
  • The car manufacturer

In some cases, the accident victim may file a personal injury lawsuit against the insurance company or any other liable party to recover damages.

Why You Should Contact Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien, P.C., Today

Your insurance company may delay or deny your claim to minimize their losses. However, you deserve the full extent of compensation afforded to you within the terms of your insurance policy. Our auto insurance lawyer can help secure fair compensation in underinsured/uninsured motorist cases by:

  • Communicating with insurance companies
  • Examining the police report
  • Extensively investigating the scene of the collision
  • Locating and speaking with any witnesses
  • Pursuing insurance claims

Our personal injury lawyers are familiar with auto insurance laws and can handle all the complicated legal matters so you can focus on the road to recovery. Contact our law firm to schedule a consultation with our team of Springfield uninsured motorist lawyers today!

Frequently Asked Questions


Who Is Covered by Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Individuals might be entitled to UMC if the negligent driver who caused their injuries operated an uninsured motor vehicle at the time of the accident. Such individuals include:

  • Bicyclists
  • Bystanders
  • Motorcycle riders
  • Passengers
  • Pedestrians


What Does Uninsured Motorist Coverage Cover in Missouri?

The UMC required under Missouri law covers bodily injuries, which include compensation for:

  • Disability
  • Lost wages (past and future)
  • Medical bills (past and future)
  • Mental or physical pain and suffering

Most UMC policies do not cover property damage, such as damages to your vehicle. However, some UMCs will cover property damage if an added premium is paid for that coverage.


What to Do if An Uninsured Driver Hits You?

If you were in a collision with an uninsured driver, the following tips would help you protect your legal rights to compensation for your injuries:

  • Contact a law enforcement officer.
  • Call an ambulance (if you or anyone else was injured).
  • Exchange information with everyone involved (including names, addresses, driver’s license numbers, insurance company names, and insurance coverage policy numbers).
  • Help anyone who is injured (do not move them).
  • Perform a wellness check.
  • Refuse offers of cash or settlements from the other driver.
  • Schedule an appointment with a doctor.
  • Stay at the scene until the police officer arrives.
  • Take notes of the other vehicle (make, model, color, and registration number).
  • Try to get the driver’s name and contact information.
  • Take photos and videos of the accident scene.
  • Talk to an auto insurance lawyer.
  • Warn other road users (you can use flares, cones, reflectors, or flashlights).

We can help! FREE Injury and Work Comp Consultations.


Email Us


Contact Us

LP MakePayment NO AMEX