BWO Trial Lawyers White

A Complete Guide to Missouri Moped Laws

Do you need help navigating Missouri Moped Laws? Worry no more. Buchanan Williams & O’Brien in Missouri can help. Book a consultation call today!

We are personal injury experts who have achieved results for our clients in Missouri for over 40 years.

logos slidere min

Understanding Missouri Moped Laws

Mopeds are a cheaper alternative to motorcycles and a faster one to bicycles. People of all ages, from college-goers to older people, use them. The moped is an excellent choice for anyone who wants the convenience of a motorcycle but doesn’t want to burn too much gas. It’s the perfect compromise between a bike and a motorcycle. From a legal perspective, however, they are more like motorbikes than bicycles and are regulated as such.

In Missouri, a moped is categorized as a motorized bicycle, and moped riders must adhere to the same laws as car and motorcycle drivers. If you are thinking of getting a moped for yourself or your child, you need to familiarize yourself with moped laws and safety regulations.

Moped accidents are not unheard of, and they are often treated as motorcycle accidents rather than bicycle crashes. But, as a moped driver, you are most likely to be the victim of an accident rather than the at-fault driver.

If you are injured while riding your moped in Missouri, you can consult top personal injury lawyers at Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien. We can help you file a personal injury claim and fight for you in court for fair compensation.

What Are Moped Laws in Missouri?

Mopeds are a popular means of transportation in Missouri. They are convenient, easy to operate, and economical. Although mopeds are generally safer than cars and motorcycles, they are not immune from traffic accidents. So, it is important to understand the Missouri moped laws so that you will be able to avoid legal problems in the future.

According to Missouri State law, a motorized bicycle is every vehicle with a maximum power output of 1.5 horsepower and a maximum engine capacity of 50 cubic centimeters (cc). Their engines produce less than three gross horsepower and have an automatic transmission. Mopeds usually meet these characteristics and so are regulated as motorized bicycles.

Mopeds in Missouri are classified into two types:

  • Class A: mopeds that have a maximum speed of 30 miles per hour (mph)
  • Class B: mopeds that have a maximum speed of 25 mph

Missouri Moped Driver Requirements

To legally ride a moped or motorcycle on public roads in Missouri, you must have an appropriate motorcycle license or permit. This could be a separate Class M license or a regular driver’s license with an M endorsement.

In order to ride a moped, riders must be at least 16 years old and have a valid driver’s license or moped operator’s permit.

Rules of the Road for Mopeds in Missouri

It’s important to note that riding mopeds on the federal interstate highway system is not allowed. However, they can be ridden on Missouri’s public streets and highways as long as you follow the state’s traffic rules and guidelines.

If you need to drive slower than the speed limit, stay in the right-hand lane and leave enough space from the edge of the road to avoid potential hazards.

Moped riders in Missouri must follow the same traffic laws as other motor vehicle operators. They must obey all traffic signals and signs and signal when turning.

You must know that mopeds are not permitted on sidewalks, though you can ride them in bike lanes or on the shoulder of the road.

If a moped is involved in an accident that results in injury, death, or property damage exceeding $500, the driver will need to report the accident to law enforcement. In such cases, it’s very important to contact your personal injury lawyer as soon as possible.

Moped Safety Equipment Requirements in Missouri

Mopeds must have proper lighting equipment, including a headlight, tail light, and brake light that are visible from a 500 feet distance.

They have to be equipped with strong brakes that can stop the moped within 25 feet when traveling at 20 mph and horns audible for at least 200 feet. They must also have mirrors on the left and right sides of the moped that can provide at least 200 feet of clear rear view.

How Can Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien Help?

 

An individual may be held liable for damages if they negligently or intentionally cause injury to another person while driving their car. Collision coverage is the responsibility of the driver who is found to be at fault in the accident.

Collision liability is determined by several factors, including:

  • Whether or not the driver violated any traffic laws
  • The severity of injuries sustained by those involved in the collision

If you are injured in a moped or electric scooter accident, even if all parties have car insurance, you may need to file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver for compensation for medical expenses. If your liability insurance does not cover everything, you can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. A skilled car insurance lawyer in MO, can help you with this entire process.

How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit After a Car Accident in Missouri?

In Missouri, after a car accident, individuals generally have five years to file a personal injury claim. While this may seem unrelated, it’s interesting to note Missouri moped laws. Mopeds, classified under motorized bicycles, must adhere to certain regulations. 

To ride a moped in Missouri, moped riders need a valid driver’s license, but not necessarily a motorcycle license or endorsement. Missouri moped laws state mopeds should have an automatic transmission, a maximum speed of 30 mph, and adhere to the same traffic rules as other motor vehicle operators. 

Just like car accidents, moped accidents on the federal interstate highway system can lead to serious injuries, necessitating claims. Always consult the Missouri Department for comprehensive details.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Moped Riders Required to Wear a Helmet in Missouri?

Under the revised helmet law, drivers and passengers 25 years old and younger must wear helmets. Riders 26 years and older are not required to wear a helmet if they have health insurance.

Do You Need to Register Your Moped in Missouri?

Moped riders do not have to register or obtain a motorcycle endorsement from the Missouri Department of Revenue.

We can help! FREE Injury and Work Comp Consultations.

Call

Email Us

Message

Contact Us

LP MakePayment NO AMEX
image010