Missouri Statute of Limitations Personal Injury Specialists
If you are filing a personal injury claim in the state of Missouri, it’s critical that you understand the Missouri statute of limitations for personal injury cases. If you’ve been injured by the reckless or illegal behavior of someone else, you’re likely dealing with a significant amount of physical and emotional trauma. Despite these conditions, it’s imperative that you take action quickly against those who have hurt you. In Missouri, there is a statute of limitations imposed by the law, which dictates how long of a period you have to file a lawsuit. Missing this can mean you will have no way to retrieve financial compensation.
Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien have been helping injured Missourians for over 40 years. With offices in Joplin, St. Louis, and Carthage, Missouri, help is never far away. Read on for our complete guide.
Statute of Limitations Missouri: The Law
In addition to the basics of the statute of limitations Missouri as applicable to personal injury, it is important to know vital details about the various deadlines and the possibilities of extending the filing period.
The standard time limit for Missouri personal injury lawsuits is five years, as stipulated in the Missouri personal injury statute of limitations, Missouri Code section 516.120. Any lawsuits seeking a legal remedy for an “injury to the person” must be filed within five years of discovering the injury.
As with most laws, there are some exceptions to Missouri statute of limitations personal injury. We will discuss these more in the following sections.
To summarize, in situations where your injuries were caused by either an intentional act or the carelessness of another person, you may decide to seek civil remedy or damages for your losses at a Missouri court. However, the initial documentation (the “complaint”) and other necessary paperwork for such case must be filed in court within the span of five years after the date of the underlying accident.
A personal injury attorney Missouri can help you meet the Missouri statute of limitations personal injury deadlines.
Exceptions to the Missouri Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
There are certain situations where the Missouri personal injury statute of limitations clock might be delayed or paused after it has started to run. Though slightly different, such a delay or pause essentially extends the filing deadline.
Two key examples of the exceptions to Missouri personal injury statute of limitations are 1) where the injured person is mentally incapacitated or 2) where the injured person is under the age of 21 during the accident. If such happens, Missouri Revised Statutes section 516.170 holds that the injured person’s five-year deadline to file the personal injury lawsuit starts counting after he or she turns 21 or is declared competent.
Also, if the defendant (the person responsible for the injuries of the plaintiff) originally resides in the state of Missouri, but left the state for some time after the underlying accident and before the lawsuit could be filed, the five-year filing period deadline will not include the time the defendant was absent.
Finally, if a government agency or employee is involved in the injury claims, the applicable rules are different. An injury claim against the Missouri state (or a Missouri city) government must be filed within 90 days from the date of the underlying accident. Also, such claims should be filed with the Office of Administration’s Risk Management Division in addition to being filed in civil court.
As you can see, though there is a basic five year deadline for filing personal injury claims, the law is complicated. A trustworthy personal injury attorney Missouri will answer your questions and fight for you in court.
Personal Injury Attorney Missouri
At Buchanan, Williams, O’Brien, we understand the level of fright, stress, and pain our clients experience during personal injury cases. When you contact us as a victim of a car accident or medical malpractice, or someone who has lost a loved one in a wrongful death caused by the negligence of another person, we will ensure that we take away the stress of your court case, leaving you and your family to focus solely on healing.
We will pursue compensation for your injuries on your behalf, giving you the legal assistance you need to win your case. With our help, you can get the money you need to pay your medical bills and the time you need to heal properly. Ultimately, we will help you get back to your best. Our clients know this, and it’s why we were named one of the top ten personal injury attorneys Missouri for client satisfaction.
Consult one of our experienced personal injury attorneys today and have all your inquiries about the Missouri statute of limitations, and how it applies to your personal injury case answered, whether the deadline has passed or is fast-approaching.