We are personal injury experts who have achieved results for our clients in Joplin for over 40 years.
The Driver License Bureau
You also need to report car accidents to the Driver License Bureau in the following cases:
- If the auto crash occurred less than a year ago
- If an uninsured driver was involved
- If anyone was injured or killed
- If there was damage to property that cost more than $500.
In such cases, you’ll need to fill out an accident report form and mail it to the Bureau within 30 days of the accident. If you need help preparing your report or have other questions about the issue, an auto accident lawyer may be of assistance.
The Police or Local Law Enforcement
If you were involved in a car accident, it is essential to report the incident to the police as soon as possible. The police will secure the site, investigate the accident and obtain information about the vehicles involved, the individuals involved, witness statements, and contact information of the parties.
If possible, note the badge number of the police officer at the scene. This information could be relevant when you’re following up on the case. Following the investigation, ensure you obtain a police report on the accident. This could be relevant if you intend to seek compensation for any damage or injury to your person or your property.
Sometimes, different counties in Missouri have different procedures for reporting car accidents. For instance, in Springfield, if you’re involved in a minor car crash, you are required to file a citizen crash report with the police department. The report should be filed when there are no personal injuries from the accident and could be made in person or at the Springfield Police Department front desk.
In Joplin, on the other hand, you are required to contact the Records and Technical Services arm of the Joplin Police Department to report an accident.
If you need further information on the procedure in St. Louis, Springfield, or other counties in Missouri, a St. Louis car accident attorney might be able to answer your questions.
The Insurance Company
If you’ve been involved in a car accident, you also need to contact your car insurance company and provide them as much information as possible about the incident, including the vehicles involved, so that they can assess liability and coverage.
Expenses the insurance company may cover include but are not limited to the following expenses:
- Lost wages from injuries
- Medical bills
- Property damage from a fender bender or minor accident