Personal Injury Lawyer Missouri Specialists
A Personal Injury Lawyer Missouri can come in handy in many situations including car accidents, slip and fall injuries, wrongful death cases, and many others. If you have suffered an injury and are thinking about pursuing compensation, check out this guide to personal injury from an experienced personal injury attorney in Missouri.
Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien have been serving clients in Missouri personal injury cases for over 40 years. With offices in Joplin, St. Louis, and Springfield, Missouri, help is never far away.
Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien have been a trusted law firm serving Missourians for over 40 years.
- Committed to always treating clients with courtesy & respect
- Benefit from the unrivaled experience of our statewide team of lawyers
- Trust the proven success we’ve delivered to clients for decades
Automobile Injury Attorney
Car accidents are a common cause of significant personal injury, so if it happens to you, an automobile injury attorney may come in handy. Most personal injury lawyers Missouri have plenty of experience with automobile accident cases.
You may be able to pursue a personal injury claim if you were involved in a car accident where the other person was at fault and negligent or neglectful. Such accidents often involve drivers who were distracted by their cell phones or drivers who are intoxicated. The case may be more complicated if an uninsured or underinsured motorist is involved, or if the other driver did a hit-and-run.
Auto Accident Lawyers Missouri
Talk to a group of auto accident lawyers Missouri to find out about your rights and what it may be possible to recover on account of your accident. If you’re facing medical or auto repair bills, if you cannot work, or if you’re facing financial hardship because of an accident that wasn’t your fault, you deserve compensation and answers.
Contact us now to get a free, immediate case evaluation.
Missouri Statute of Limitations Personal Injury
A statute of limitations is the legally-mandated time within which you must file your claim or take a case to court. In the state of Missouri, if you’re planning to submit a personal injury claim in civil court, the statute of limitations mandate that you do this within five years. This period of time starts from the date of your accident.
Your personal injury lawyer Missouri will be able to figure out how much time you have to file your case depending on your specific situation.
Missouri Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
A few situations exist where the Missouri personal injury statute of limitations clock might be delayed or even paused after the clock begins. This delay or pause essentially extends the filing deadline.
Two examples of the exceptions to Missouri personal injury statute of limitations are:
- where the injured person is mentally incapacitated
- where the injured person is under the age of 21 during the accident.
If either of these instances is the case, Missouri Revised Statutes section 516.170 state that the injured person’s five-year clock to file the personal injury lawsuit begins after he or she turns 21 or is declared competent.
Statute of Limitations Missouri Personal Injury
Another exception to the statute of limitations Missouri personal injury is if the person responsible (defendant) for your injuries left the state for a period of time after the injury and before the case was filed. In this case, the five-year statute of limitations would not include the time the defendant was absent.
Medical Malpractice Statute of Limitations Missouri
The medical malpractice statute of limitations Missouri is different than the time period for typical personal injury claims. You have two years from the date the medical error occurred.
When doctors make mistakes, the consequences are often severe and can involve serious injuries or even death. Medical professionals are required by law to follow the applicable “standard of care” when treating patients. If they do not and something goes wrong with the patient, they can be liable to personal injury claims due to medical malpractice.
Missouri Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations
The Missouri wrongful death statute of limitations is three years. In practice, this means that all Missouri wrongful death request must be on record within three years beginning from the date of the death.
Of course money cannot ever take the place of a loved one, however, financial compensation may offer the family some relief in a difficult time.
Top Personal Injury Lawyer Missouri
The personal injury lawyers at Missouri firm Buchanan, Williams, & O’Brien have the experience compassion, and knowledge to evaluate your situation and pursue the best course of action in your personal injury case. We believe in treating each and every one of our clients with courtesy and respect, and we also get results.
We have recoverd millions of dollars for our clients in the past 40 years of operations. Learn more about our incredible results.
Top Personal Injury Law Firm in MO
Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien’s practice is built on the twin pillars of Superior legal representation and Exceptional personal service. These led to us becoming a top personal injury law firm in MO. We are dedicated to helping you win your personal injury case.